“Hobson’s Choice” by Harold Brighouse – November 2000

Directed by David Darby

Produced by Annette Ayres

The Cast (in order of appearance)
Henry Hobson Stan Harbidge
Maggie Hobson Sarah Taylor
Willie Mossop Justin Day
Vickey Hobson Debbie Edwards
Alice Hobson Sally Anderson
Jim Heeler Jon Jones
Ada Figgins Debbie Sharpe
Fred Benstock Terry Hall
Tubbie Wadlow Mick North
Dr. Macfarlane Rob Fawcett
Mrs Hepworth Christine Jackson
Albert Prosser Phil Thomas


This most famous of classic comedies is set in the grime of 'turn of the century' Salford.
It concerns the turmoil created in the life of Henry Horatio Hobson, boot maker, orator and champion toper.
British middle class and proud of it, Hobson finds himself up against the females in the family, particularly the headstrong Maggie, forcing him to settle, literally, to Hobson's Choice. Set in 1880.

Act 1 Hobson's Boot Shop in Chapel St., Salford
Act 2 One month later

15 minute Interval

Act 3 Oldfield Rd. Evening of the same day
Act 4 Hobson's parlour, a year later.


The Production Team

Stage Manager Martin Day assisted by Dave Ealden
Prompt Annette Ayres
Properties Jim Wallis & Val Rushworth & Kathy Thomas
Sound & Light Clive Holland, Tom James
& Tim Ritzmann
Set Design David Darby, Justin Day & Martin Day
Set Construction Martin Day, Dave Ealden, Terry Hall & Group Members
Programme Design Justin Day, Dave Darby & Debbie Anne O'Donovan
Ticket Sales Kath Ready
Front of House Maureen North & Group Members
Refreshments Kath Ready & Group Members